Canadian Urban Libraries Council/Conseil des Bibliothèques Urba

CULC in The News

CULC/CBUC Member Briefing - Copyright Legislation and Supreme Court Rulings

Tuesday, September 11, 2012 @ 1:00 pm Eastern (10 am Pacific; 2 pm Atlantic)

Teleconference Access: HAS BEEN EMAILED TO CEO MEMBERS FOR USE WITHIN THEIR INSTITUTION

Speaker: Paul Whitney, former City Librarian, Vancouver Public Library and recognized Copyright Expert
Moderator: Catherine Biss, Chair, CULC/CBUC and CEO, Markham Public Library

As most are aware Bill C-11 (the same as Bill C-32 from 2010) received Royal Assent on July 29, 2012. Two weeks later, in mid-July, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled on five copyright matters that were before them.

The CULC/CBUC Executive is hosting a high-level briefing on the impact of these actions and what it means or could potential mean for large urban public library administration and service in Canada. Canadian Copyright expert and former Vancouver Public Library City Librarian Paul Whitney will give his take and answer questions from members. The format will be an audio teleconference followed by a Q & A.

On behalf of IFLA, Paul has recently attended a series of World Intellectual Property Organisation meetings on limitations and exceptions for libraries and archives and is chairing the IFLA eLending Task Force. International copyright developments relevant to Canadian public libraries will be reviewed. If you have specific questions or issues you would like to have Paul address, please send them to my attention and I will ensure they get to Paul in advance.

The call is open to CEO and Senior Staff as members feel appropriate. There is no cost for participation. The call will be recorded and will be available for playback off of the CULC/CBUC website following the live presentation so that others who cannot make the live presentation can still benefit.

Tags: